Surprise yourself!

My life and general routine has changed dramatically in the last six weeks, as my husband and I welcomed our two beautiful children into our lives. All through the journey to this point, many people told us ‘your life is going to change…..you won’t be able to do the things you do now…..your health and fitness lifestyle will be no more….’ and many other things along those lines, as well as the more positive ‘it’s an amazing thing and change is for the better’ comments.

Prior to the children I was an early riser and a morning gym/run person, and I often went on long weekend runs with my friend who had recently got into running. I will admit it, I did start to think that maybe these people could be right and that I would lose it all and would be tied to these children with no ‘me time’ for years to come. BUT that has definitely not happened. In fact, I am out running and in the gym getting better results more frequently – so what’s happened?

Well, OK I have had to modify my timings and yes the children have to come first at times. But if I can get my mum to sit with them, or I am willing to get up even earlier before my husband leaves for work, then I can fit things in and no-one suffers. But the biggest change for me has been when I have gone out running at a completely different time of the day…….

I constantly tell myself ‘I am a morning person and I can’t do exercise at any other time of the day – if I miss that window I am useless and I won’t enjoy it/achieve anything with it’. That means I start out with the wrong attitude. Now though, because I have to take the opportunity when I can get it, I have found myself running at lunchtime, or in the evenings. And the biggest surprise has been my performance – I have racked up new PBs at lunchtime, run further in the evening, and the one that surprised me the most…..I ran a regular route with the children in the double buggy and was only 20 seconds slower than my PB!

So it got me thinking – sometimes if you break your normal routine, and take an opportunity even if you think it may not work out, it can be the best decision you ever made. It can also get you questioning your attitude and approach to life – it certainly has with me. Don’t get stuck in a rut, and don’t listen to your inner negative voice (or that of others). Take the opportunity and try the change – at least you tried, and that’s better than thinking ‘what if?’.

Leave a Reply

